You know you’re over 40 when…


1) you go into the store for Chapstick lip balm and the shopkeeper loads you up with free samples of ‘eye lifting serum’ and ‘anti-wrinkle cream’.

2) your dad starts sending you jokes that are ‘R rated’

3) your mom tells you how proud she is of you!

4) your dad starts sending you ‘you know you’re getting old when lists’

5) both your parents are in a sunny location during Christmas and if you’re lucky you may get a Skype call from them wishing you a “Happy Holiday”.

6) you finally realize that DIET is a four letter word.

7) elastic waistbands are your friends.

8) you whine about the unfairness of it all when you find out the soccer team you are playing against are old enough to be your children…in college!

9) above mentioned soccer team then slaughters you 6-1.

10) you get upset when someone tries to encroach on your Friday night plans to stay home with the cat.

11) hiking is a sport not an activity.

12) you’re thinking about what an adventure it would be to own a sewing machine even if you have no clue how to sew!

13) most of the photos on your iPad are of your cat or something you baked.

14) you start writing lists like this and you don’t get writer’s block 🙂

About lmarmstrong66

I'm a blogger, painter, writer, singer. For the love of all things in nature and creativity.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You know you’re over 40 when…

  1. I can so relate- not quite there but on my way! My kids are always asking me questions about history and are amazed that I wasn’t there “mum what was it like in the war?” me= arrrghhh! Xxx

  2. Haha…lovely list 🙂 !

  3. No 1a) you think that these samples might actually be useful 🙂

  4. Donna says:

    Hahaha! Great post and all so true…just the other day a guy at the mall was handing out samples of face cream and then, unprompted by me, asked if I wanted to try the eye serum! Creep! And I could nearly cry when I realize old enough to be somebody’s mother for me, now, means they’ve probably graduated college. Ack! I give you credit though, the very thought of playing soccer, any sport really, that involves running makes me wheeze and reach for the heating pad.

    • Well if it makes you feel any better I wheeze throughout the practice and keep my inhaler on the bench next to my kleenex and water bottle. The heating pad usually comes out after a soak in the hot bath too 🙂 unless I am so tired that I just collapse in bed and wake up stiff the next morning.

  5. Pingback: Ancora cose belle dalla rete « Dear Miss Fletcher

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.